Latest Tweets
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

4th Earth Observation Summer School 2008

 August 4, 2008 - August 14, 2008


European Space Agency (ESA) organises a series of summer schools on Monitoring of the Earth System to promote the exploitation of Earth Observation EO data across disciplines, with a specific focus on their assimilation into Earth System models. The Summer Schools last for two-week and are held in ESA/ESRIN (near Rome, Italy).

The fourth edition of the series took place from 4th to 14th August 2008 and was titled “4th EO Summer School on Earth System Monitoring & Modelling“. A total of 71 young researchers (Ph.D. students, young post-docs) from European institutions attended the event.

The Summer School aimed to train a new generation of scientists in the skills needed to exploit data from the full range of instruments of ESA’s Envisat satellite. In particular, it focused on the assimilation of Earth Observation data into Earth System computer models, to provide an integrated end-to-end perspective ranging from measurement techniques to end-user applications.

A broad spectrum of spectrum of topics were addressed, related to cryosphere, oceanography, atmosphere and vegetation: sea ice, carbon cycle, surface albedo, inverse modelling, ocean colour, coastal areas, water cycle and the flow of energy in the earth climate system, among others.

The programme also included keynote lectures, hands-on computing practicals and poster sessions.



  • Peter Lemke (AWI)
  • Alan O’Neill (NCEO)
  • Kevin Trenberth (NCAR)
  • Shaun Quegan (CTCD)
  • Samantha Lavender (UoP/ARGANS)
  • David Carlson (IPY)
  • Thomas Kaminski (Fastopt)
  • Bernard Pinty (JRC)
  • Ana Maiques (Starlab)
  • Tony McNally (ECMWF)
  • Henri Laur (ESA)



  • Val Byfield (NOC)
  • Steffen Dransfeld (ESA)
  • Stefano Migliorini (DARC)
  • Marek Wlasak (UK Met Office)
  • Giuseppe Ottavianelli (ESA)
  • Marco Lavalle (ESA)
  • Joanne Walker (Oxford University)



  • Stephen Briggs (ESA)
  • Francesco Sarti (ESA)
  • Christiane Schmullius (Uni Jena)
  • Marion Schroedter-Homscheidt (DLR)



  • Pierre-Philippe Mathieu (ESA) (Organiser)
  • Cathy Morris (SERCO/ESA-ESRIN) (Coordinator)
  • Carmen Comparetto (ESA Conference Bureau/ESA-ESRIN) (Logistics)


Access here below the full programme.